top of page


Brent & Barb Sandholm

Brent and Barb Sandholm are rodeo people. Not only have they been active members of the Wrangler Saddle Club for decades, they’ve raised three children who have also been very active in the Dayton rodeo.


The Sandholms, both graduates of Dayton High School, have been married 45 years and are members of Emanuel Lutheran Church in Dayton.  They have three children (Shannon, Melissa, and Brandon) and three grandchildren.    


Brent spent four years as Wrangler President and was a member of the Celebration Committee for six years.  Barb was in charge of the Wranglers’ food stand for two years.   Being so close to the rodeo, the Sandholms know better than most that the Dayton Rodeo is much more than Labor Day weekend—it is a year-round activity.  The couple has spent many, many hours cleaning, painting, and repairing things at the rodeo grounds. Brent still spends the weekend before Labor Day spray painting the arena. He also runs the north arena gate for all four performances each rodeo.   


The Sandholm's are not just involved in rodeo activities—they are active members of the community. While raising the children, the family was involved in 4-H, Girl Scouts, horse shows, sporting events, camping, and trail rides. Brent has been a member of the Lions Club, Jaycees, and the Dayton Rescue Squad.


Both of his daughters were members of the Serpentine Riders Precision Drill Team and were junior rodeo queens. Son Brandon has helped in the back pens and with setting up the sound system. Brandon also rode junior bulls and was competed in the Wild Horse Race.

Brent farmed and is retired from the City of Fort Dodge after 22 years as Supervisor of Water Distribution.   Barb is retired from Trimark/Unity Point Health after 16 years.


“It’s an honor to be the 2022 Parade Marshalls,” the couple said when they were informed.                    


Written by: Kendra Breitsprecher

2022 Grand Marshalls

Partial List of Past Grand Marshalls

1976: Les Danielson

1977: C.D. Lindstom

1978: Fred Schwendemann

1979: Claude Helms

1980: Eva Haub

1981: Vern Danielson, Duane Vegors, Allen Porter

1982: Don Lauer

1983: Mr. and Mrs. Harold Williams

1984: Mildren Vegors

1985: Russell Hanson

1986: John Campidilli

1987: Allen and Esther Porter

1988: Gordon and Clarice Lundberg

1997: Dick Chinburg

2000: Kenny Schlief

2001: Jonathan Anderson

2002: Wayne Newholm

2003: Dwight and Phyllis Kinsey

2006: Wayne Tell

2007: Bob and Colleen Bass

2008: Leonard and Marilyn Anderson

2009: Marty and Jerry Paullin

2010: Edna Will and Rose Challgren

2011: Doug and Duan Boker

2012: Allen Porter

2013: John and Cindy Haub

2014: Leonard and Marilyn Anderson

2015: Imogene Hanson

2016: Lynn Schlief

2017: Norm and Deb Vegors

2018: Gordon Lundberg

2019: Earl Hanson

2021: Rob Scott

2022: Brent and Barb Sandholm

bottom of page